Skip to content ↓

Governance

Our Governance Structure

At Dudley Academies Trust we have a highly committed board of trustees and local advisory committees who are all passionate about improving the educational outcomes for young people in Dudley.  The Trust, under the sponsorship of Dudley College of Technology, an Ofsted ‘outstanding’ provider, has a broad strategic vision to drive future success.

As a charity and company limited by guarantee, the board of trustees, or directors, have overall responsibility and ultimate decision making authority for all the work of the Trust, including the running of the academies maintained by the Trust.

In order to support the effective operation of the Trust and the Academies, the Board has established a number of committees to which it has delegated certain of its powers and functions. These committees are detailed below.

BOARD OF TRUSTEES – DUDLEY ACADEMIES TRUST

Trustees

  • Lowell Williams, Chair of the Board of Trustees
  • Andy Comyn, Trustee
  • Martin Dudley, Trustee
  • Nigel Ford, Trustee
  • Helen Georgiou, Trustee
  • Pat Hazlehurst, Trustee
  • Steve Johnson, Trustee
  • Megan Price, Trustee
  • Thomas Westley, Trustee
  • David Whatton, Trustee

In attendance

  • Jo Higgins, Chief Executive
  • Central leadership team members as required

Schedule of meetings for 2020/21

Friday 16th October 2020
Friday 11th December 2020
Friday 5th February 2021
Friday 26th March 2021
Friday 9th July 2021

BUSINESS & AUDIT COMMITTEE – DUDLEY ACADEMIES TRUST

Members

  • Andy Comyn, Committee Member
  • Peter Davies, Chair
  • Nigel Ford, Committee Member (Vice Chair)
  • Steve Johnson, Committee Member

In attendance

  • Jo Higgins, Chief Executive
  • Chris Christoforou, Financial Planning and Analysis Manager
  • Central leadership team members as required
  • Internal and external audit providers as required

Schedule of meetings

Wednesday 23rd September 2020
Wednesday 2nd December 2020
Wednesday 17th March 2021
Wednesday 23rd June 2021

EDUCATIONAL STANDARDS AND PERFORMANCE COMMITTEE – DUDLEY ACADEMIES TRUST

Members

  • Lowell Williams, Chair
  • Helen Georgiou, Committee Member
  • Pat Hazlehurst, Committee Member

In attendance

  • Jo Higgins, Chief Executive
  • Central leadership team members as required

Schedule of meetings

Monday 12th October 2020
Monday 15th March 2021
Monday 28th June 2021

PERSONNEL, PERFORMANCE AND PAY COMMITTEE – DUDLEY ACADEMIES TRUST

Members

  • Lowell Williams, Chair
  • Andy Comyn, Committee Member
  • Martin Dudley, Committee Member
  • Megan Price, Committee Member

In attendance

  • Jo Higgins, Chief Executive
  • Central leadership team members as required

Schedule of meetings

Friday 25th September 2020
Tuesday 19th January 2021
Friday 11th June 2021

ACADEMY LOCAL ADVISORY COMMITTEES

Members

Meeting Dates 2020/21

BEACON HILL ACADEMY

David Whatton, Chair
Claire Gallagher, Vice Chair 
Vacancy, Staff Member
Vacancy, Parent Member
Michael Emery, Committee Member
Rachel James, Committee Member
Stellah Kuteesa, Committee Member
Ian Mander, Committee Member
Sukhjot Dhami, Academy Principal

Wednesday 7th October 2020
Wednesday 25th November 2020
Wednesday 27th January 2021
Wednesday 24th March 2021
Wednesday 30th June 2021

 

BLOWERS GREEN PRIMARY

(SHADOW COMMITTEE PENDING APPROVAL BY TRUST BOARD)

Steve Leggett, Chair
Pat Hazlehurst, Committee Member
Kristian Cooksey, Staff Member
Lucy Williams, Staff Member
Surinder Sehmbi, Academy Principal

Thursday 8th October 2020
Thursday 26th November 2020
Thursday 28th January 2021
Thursday 18th March 2021
Thursday 24th June 2021

 

PEGASUS ACADEMY

Helen Georgiou, Chair
James Taylor, Staff Member
Marlene Da Costa, Parent Member
Muhammad Saghir, Parent Member
Jasmine Grey, Committee Member 
Karl Veltman, Committee Member
Andy Landers, Academy Principal

 

Tuesday 13th October 2020
Tuesday 1st December 2020
Tuesday 2nd February 2021
Tuesday 16th March 2021
Tuesday 29th June 2021

 

ST JAMES ACADEMY

Tom Westley, Chair
Peter Marsh, Vice Chair
Paul Townsend, Staff Member 
Michaela Garbett, Parent Member
Claire Barrows, Parent Member
Andrew Clarke, Committee Member  
Richard Tasker, Committee Member
Ian Moore, Academy Principal

Tuesday 6th October 2020
Tuesday 17th November 2020
Tuesday 12th January 2021
Tuesday 9th March 2021
Tuesday 15th June 2021

 

THE LINK ACADEMY

Megan Price, Chair
Matt Brookes, Parent Member
Kuldip Sandhu, Parent Member
Jonathan Morgan, Staff Member
Martin Bradney, Committee Member 
Philip Clarke, Committee Member
Emma Edwards-Morgan, Academy Principal

Thursday 1st October 2020
Thursday 19th November 2020
Thursday 21st January 2021
Thursday 11th March 2021
Thursday 17th June 2021

 

Minutes of meetings

Minutes of all meetings will be made available upon approval by the relevant Committee.  

Should you have any queries regarding governance of our Trust, please contact Gill Darwood, Senior Officer – Corporate Governance via gill.darwood@dudleycol.ac.uk